PSD Climate Data Repository | Search

FACTS Climate Experiment Documentation

Climate Experiments

The table below shows the Climate Experiments that are being made available through the FACTS website. All runs cover the period 1979-2012 and will be extended as necessary (see footnotes).

Experiment Identifiers Forcings1 Number of Ensemble Members
Experiment Name2 File Name ID3 Sea Surface Temperature (SST) Sea Ice Greenhouse Gases (GHG) Ozone ECHAM5 CAM4
AMIP with Observed Radiative Forcing amip_obs_rf Obs Obs Obs Obs 20 205
AMIP with 1880s Radiative Forcing amip_1880s_rf Obs Detrended to 1880 Present Climatology Past Climatology Past Climatology 10 20
AMIP with Climatological Radiative Forcing amip_clim_rf Obs Obs Present Climatology Present Climatology 10  
AMIP with Observed Radiative Forcing, Climatological Sea Ice and Polar SST amip_clim_polar Obs/Present Climatology Present Climatology Obs Obs 10 20
AMIP with Observed Radiative Forcing, Climatological Ozone amip_clim_o3 Obs Obs Obs Present Climatology 10  
Leading Pattern of Global SST Variabilty4 with Observed Radiative Forcing eof1_sst 1st EOF4 Obs Obs Obs 10  
First 2 Leading Patterns of Global SST Variabilty4 with Observed Radiative Forcing eof1+eof2_sst 1st & 2nd EOF4 Obs Obs Obs 10  

1 Obs - Observed conditions, Present Climatology (varies by forcing, but generally some average conditions between 1981-2010), Past Climatology (1881-1910 climatology, or a specific pre-industrial date). See experiment desciptions for complete details.
2 Text for "experiment" global attribute in files
3 Experiment identifier in file and directory names
4 Leading Patterns are the first and second Empirical Orthogonal Functions (EOF) of Global monthly SST variability 1979-2011 (EOF1, EOF2)
5Updated through 2013


Single Page

Climate Experiment Variables

The table below shows a list of variables being made available through the FACTS website. Each experiment may have only some of the variable available. The netCDF files use the CMIP5 variable names and units where possible and include variable attributes to show the original model variable name and units.

  CMIP5 Variables and Units Model Variables
Variable Description
(long_name attribute)
Variable Name Units CF Standard name ECHAM5 CAM42
Total Cloud Fraction clt % cloud_area_fraction aclcov  
Surface Upward Latent Heat Flux hfls W m-2 surface_upward_latent_heat_flux ahfl LHFLX
Surface Upward Sensible Heat Flux hfss W m-2 surface_upward_sensible_heat_flux ahfs  
Convective Precipitation prc kg m-2 s-1 convective_precipitation_flux aprc PRECC
Large Scale Precipitation prl1 kg m-2 s-1 large_scale_precipitation_flux aprl PRECL
Snowfall Flux prsn kg m-2 s-1 snowfall_flux aprs  
Surface Air Pressure ps Pa surface_air_pressue aps PS
Evaporation evspsbl kg m-2 s-1 water_evaporation_flux evap  
Geopotential Height zg m geopotential_height geopoth Z3
Omega wap Pa s-1 lagrangian_tendency_of_air_pressure omega  
Precipitation pr kg m-2 s-1 precipitation_flux precip precip
Specific Humidity hus kg kg-1 specific_humidity q  
Vertically Integrated Water Vapor prw kg m-2 atmospheric_water_vapor_content qvi  
Relative Humidity hur % relative_humidity relhum  
Surface Runoff mrro kg m-2 s-1 runoff_flux runoff  
Sea Level Pressure psl Pa air_pressure_at_sea_level slp PSL
Snow Depth snd m surface_snow_thickness sn  
Air Temperature ta K air_temperature st T
Daily Maximum Near-Surface Air Temperature tasmax K air_temperature t2max  
Daily Minimum Near-Surface Air Temperature tasmin K air_temperature t2min  
Near-Surface Air Temperature tas K air_temperature temp2 TREFHT
Surface Temperature ts K surface_temperature tsurf TS
Eastward Wind ua m s-1 eastward_wind u U
Eastward Near-Surface Wind uas m s-1 eastward_wind u10  
Northward Wind va m s-1 northward_wind v V
Northward Near-Surface Wind vas m s-1 northward_wind v10  
Surface Albedo alb1 1 surface_albedo albedo  
Near-Surface Dew Point Temperature dtas1 K dew_point_temperature dew2  
Velocity Potential velpot1 m2 s-1 atmosphere_horizontal_velocity_potential velopot  
Streamfunction stream1 m2 s-1 atmosphere_horizontal_streamfunction stream  
WMO-defined Tropopause Pressure trop1 Pa N/A tropo  

1There is no CMIP5 variable for this field - these are made up.
2Empty cells in the CAM4 column indicate that those variables have not been processed.

Coordinate Variables

  CMIP5 Variables and Units Model Variables
Variable Description
(long_name attribute)
Variable Name Units CF Standard name ECHAM5 CAM4
time time days since ? time time time
latitude lat degrees_north latitude lat lat
longitude lon degrees_east longitude lon lon
pressure plev Pa air_pressure lev level


Single Page